Sign in to follow this  
Bondirob

Realistic at my age?

Hi,

I'm considering applying to West Yorkshire, however I am 43 so would it be a realistic second career at my age? It's sort of now or never I've been an engineer since leaving school but it's not something I'm passionate about. Where as I see joining the police as my way of helping others and contributing to society in some way.

Im not considering joining the police for financial reasons as I would be taking a huge pay cut, but how long is it before the initial training is over and the first pay raise comes into effect? I ask because should I be successful I'd be right on the limit financially at 22k

Thanks Rob

Hi Bob.

I joined 8 years ago as a 40 year old after working in a few other jobs since uni and to be honest I have loved every minute.  Its hard work, it can be rewarding, its thankless, its boring and exciting, its funny, its disgusting, you see the best and worst of people, its perverse in that the pay is not nearly enough for the responsibility you have or for the effects you can have on peoples lives, the government generally don't support us and you'll miss a lot of your family.

I took a big pay cut to join and now after 8 years I'm earning what I was prior to joining although when you take inflation into account my wages still haven't caught up.  You'll also be working rolling shifts and doing a lot of lates and nights so you'll really have to be in the position of wanting to do the job if you take it on.

I've spent most of my time on response, but I've had a a period regging as a temporary sergeant and I'm now a DC, so you can move around quite a bit and get experience in different areas and roles.

IIRC you get your first increment after 12 months, although that may have changed due to government 'reforms, then every 12 m after that with top wack being achieved after 7 years.  Also are you sure that your force starts on £22k because not all do.

Good luck.

• Like 1