Sign in to follow this  
Em88

Suspect not providing name...

I'm a new officer and not too sure what to do when somebody refuses to give their details when you are reporting them for a crime.

I'm sure you've probably seen this video below and I'm pretty sure the officer could arrest the suspect, although he clearly got flustered in front of the camera and forgot his legislation.

What exactly could he arrest him for though? The initial offence of running a red light, as the arrest is nessacary the to ascertain name and address or for obstructing a police officer?

once he's in custody you'd seize his camera which would have all he evidence you'd need in interview. 

Edited by Em88

Cool so in this case you would arrest for failing to stop at a red light. Simple!  Thanks. I'm doing my street duties soon and wanted to make sure I was correct!

Personally I'd arrest for the original offence and also obstructing police as the suspect will have committed both offences.

I'd not go with additional obstruction, personally I'd leave that for the lawyers. 

You'd arrest for the original offence with your necessity being to get their name/address for report down the line, as you've no need to interview etc, so once those details are confirmed they'd be released as their arrest would no longer be "necessary".

On 02/05/2017 at 03:35, Sapor62 said:

Personally I'd arrest for the original offence and also obstructing police as the suspect will have committed both offences.

Since when has not providing details been obstruction? Giving fake details but not refusing any. 

I can not effectively process the person without their name and address, which means I am being obstructed from carrying out my duties. I'm going along the lines of "Willful obstruction" which is any act which makes it more difficult for me to effectively carry out my role.