mla

Police officer political pursations

Hello everybody,

I am a serving officer with the MPS albeit a new user to this forum. Being a Special Constable I tend to use an alternative site PoliceSpecials.com and my authenticated profile can be found here.

Currently I am undertaking an anonymous survey that I would be grateful if you could take a moment to complete, the details are below.

Many thanks,

Matt.

------

Politics is everything, even though sometimes we suggest that as police officers that we transcend such matters taking a neutral perspective when enforcing the law.

But it would be naïve to suggest that we do not choose what laws we do and do not enforce by making discretionary decisions to 'write that ticket' or to dispose of an incident through 'words of advice'. These decisions will be partly based on core principles based on where you sit on the "political spectrum".

Whilst trying to avoid a discussion on what this spectrumlooks like, please can we use for the purposes of this poll a two dimensional,linear scale with anarchism on the very far left and fascism on the very farright. What I would like users to indicate is where they would sitalong this scale. I have deliberately included quite a few choices so that it accuratelyreflects the views of those participating.

Please only participate if you are a serving police officeror are currently in training to become one.

The survey can be found at the link below and I shall publish the full unedited results here on Monday the 26th of March 2012.

Thank you in advance for participating.

http://www.surveymonkey.com/s/9ZSTFQG

Welcome to the forum mla and an interesting way to start.

From time to time we get requests from people to complete surveys as part of some degree or other although, often, they are repetitive. I suspect that this may be because of the subject matter of the degree with a limited choice of ideas.